Bowman Grants

Elementary School robotics program grant description


Kim Rogerson, 2016-17, School Psychologist at Harrington and Bowman, will attend the National Association of School Psychologists’ annual convention in New Orleans, LA. The conference will present evidence-based research, strategies and techniques for testing, intervention and support that address such issues as how to meet students’ increasingly complex needs and differentiate instruction.

 Flying Classroom Curriculum

Flying Classroom Curriculum

Program Grants

Elementary Robotics Curriculum Integration. Building on the successful LEF-funded pilot of an afterschool robotics and engineering program at Estabrook and Bridge Schools, LHS teachers and the LexRobotics team will extend the program to all Lexington elementary schools and train teachers to integrate robotics and engineering classes into the schools’ regular curriculum, as well. (Awarded 2015-16)

Engaging Students in STEM Using the Flying Classroom Curriculum. Fourth grade students will vicariously circle the globe on a “Flying Classroom” expedition that explores STEM, geography, cultural studies and history in locales around the world via a web-based “reality show” that engages students in hands-on discovery and inquiry and interactive simulations. (Awarded 2015-16)

 Dr. Anton, Principal of Bowman 

Dr. Anton, Principal of Bowman 

School Community Grant

Dismantling Racism and Strengthening Reading Achievement. Bowman School will continue ongoing initiatives in cultural proficiency and the school's new "Dismantling Racism" curriculum and implement a faculty initiative on deep comprehension instruction as part of the new Reading Units of Study across the K-5 level. (Awarded 2016-17)

Cultural Proficiency, Mathematics, Reading, and 5th Grade Leadership Development. Bowman will advance ongoing initiatives in cultural proficiency, mathematics professional learning, units of study using the Readers Workshop approach, and the development of a 5th grade leadership development seminar. (Awarded 2015-16)